Spring in the Air!

With The Quorum Ensemble
Conducted by David Ogden

Bruckner Mass in E minor
Mozart Wind Serenade no. 12
Brahms Begräbnisgesang and Geistliches Lied
Bruckner Libera me Domine, Ecce Sacerdos, Locus iste and Ave Maria
Mendelssohn Verleih uns Frieden

For its Spring concert, City of Bristol Choir presents a programme of wonderful choral music from Austria and Germany.

The main work is Anton Bruckner’s colossal Mass in E minor for choir and fifteen wind and brass instruments. The work contrasts beautiful, unaccompanied, serene choral writing reminiscent of Palestrina with passages for full choir and ensemble overflowing with drama and intensity. The 100-strong choir is joined by Quorum, a professional ensemble made up of some of the South West’s leading brass and woodwind players.

The first half of the concert traces the journey from death to new life beginning with a rare performance of Brahms’ Begräbnisgesang and ending with Mendelssohn’s atmospheric motet Verleih uns Frieden (Grant us peace) in a new arrangement by David Ogden for choir and wind instruments.

In between, the choir sings motets by Bruckner, some of the most powerful and impressive choral music ever written. The programme is completed by a performance of the first movement of Mozart’s Wind Serenade in C minor.

City of Bristol Choir is an auditioned choir of adult singers, which gives regular concerts in Bristol and around the South West, and has appeared on BBC radio and television

Tickets are £18 for adults, £16 for concessions, £5 for students in full time education and under 18s

Tickets will be available on the door – cash or cheque payments only