Realms of Glory CD

Conducted by David Ogden
Richard Johnson organ
Kate Watt harp
Imogen Triner oboe

Producer: Daniel Moult
Sound engineer: Andrew Post

Realms of Glory
is a brilliant collection of choral classics and contemporary works, reflecting City of Bristol Choir’s talent and flexibility and more than justifying their reputation as of one of the finest choirs in the South West.

In the Summer of 2013 if you were one of the Bristolians hunting for Gromit as he was unleashed on the city you might have stumbled across City of Bristol Choir in St Alban’s church in Westbury Park industriously recording a CD for the first time in their 30 years’ history. Tracks include exquisite and tender motets from Bruckner and Lauridsen, alongside the technically challenging Hymn to the Virgin by Benjamin Britten and Howells’ Here is the Little Door. On a lighter note, you will be humming along to David Ogden’s brilliantly fresh Angels from the Realms of Glory within seconds.

CDs are £12 each (plus £1.50 postage & packing) and are available to buy online, from Opus 13 music shop at 14 St Michael’s Hill in Bristol, and at City of Bristol Choir concerts.

The CD is dedicated to the memory of Gabrielle Lambert and Steve Osborne, two much-loved members of City of Bristol Choir.

Track list
1. Angels from the realms of glory – David Ogden (b.1966)
2. What child is this? – Thomas Hewitt Jones (b.1984)
3. Ave Maria – Anton Bruckner (1824-96)
4. O be joyful in the Lord – John Rutter (b.1945)
5. Here is the little door – Herbert Howells (1892-1983)
6. In the bleak midwinter – Harold Darke (1888-1976)
7. The Lord is my shepherd – John Rutter (b.1945)
8. Hymn to the Virgin – Benjamin Britten (1913-76)
9. Dormi Jesu – Ian Carpenter (b.1969)
10. Locus iste – Anton Bruckner (1824-96)
11. Ave verum corpus – Colin Mawby (b.1936)
12. Let all mortal flesh keep silence – Edward Bairstow (1874-1946)
13. O nata lux – Morten Lauridsen (b.1943)
14. Away in a manger – William Kirkpatrick (1838-1921)
15. Deck the hall – Ian Carpenter (b.1969)