Duruflé’s Requiem

City of Bristol Choir
Richard Johnson organ
Juliet McCarthy cello
Martin Le Poidevin baritone

Duruflé Requiem
Mawby Do not stand at my grave and weep
Malcolm Archer In War
Samuel Barber Agnus Dei
David Ogden We will remember them
Gabriel Fauré Elegie
John Tavener Threnos for solo cello

City of Bristol Choir commemorates Remembrance Sunday with a performance of reflective and meditative choral music.

The choir is joined by professional cellist Juliet McCarthy to perform works which reflect the themes of peace and reconciliation, including In War, a setting by Malcolm Archer of words by Winston Churchill.

Duruflé’s atmospheric setting of the Requiem mass completes the programme. Its combination of timeless plainsong melodies with hushed celestial harmonies contrasted with dramatic outbursts from the choir and organ make it a moving piece to hear live in concert.

The concert is given in support of the work of the Royal British Legion.