Duruflé Requiem by Candlelight

Duruflé Requiem by Candlelight

City of Bristol Choir
Richard May cello
Jenna Cooper mezzo soprano
Conducted by David Ogden

Francis Poulenc Timor et Tremor and Vinea mea electa
Camille Saint-Saëns Priere for cello and organ
John Tavener Svyati
Samuel Barber Agnus Dei
Ēriks Ešenvalds O salutaris hostia
Maurice Duruflé Requiem
Frederik Magle Alting har sin tid på jorden
Amy Summers Nunc dimittis

Tonight’s concert is going ahead as planned. Please follow government advice regarding hygiene and hand washing, and if you have a high temperature or persistent cough, do not attend

Duruflé’s passionate and moving Requiem is at the heart of this concert, full of mystical and ethereal music in the candlelit ambience of All Saints’ Church, Clifton. The work’s combination of sonorous plainsong and beautiful melodies with dramatic virtuosic passages for choir and organ has made this piece a favourite with choirs and audiences.

Experience the power of a 100-strong choir performing Samuel Barber’s soaring and heartfelt Agnus Dei, the composer’s own choral arrangement of his famous Adagio for Strings, together with a wonderful motet for choir and  two sopranos by Ēriks Ešenvalds and motets by Poulenc.

The choir is joined by the virtuoso cellist Richard May to perform Tavener’s atmospheric and mesmerising work Svyati. He accompanies Bristol-based mezzo soprano soloist Jenna Cooper in a performance of a haunting motet from All Hallows’ Mass by the Danish composer Frederik Magle.

Tickets £15 for adults, £5 for students and under 18s, available online at the City of Bristol Choir box office, or by phone from City of Bristol Choir ticket line on 0117 950 7055.